Pakistan Time History

The region where present-day Pakistan is situated had been following UTC+5:30
since 1907 during British raj in India. On 15 September 1952, Pakistan was divided into two
time zones; Karachi time was introduced in West Pakistan by adjusting 30 minutes off
UTC+5:30 to UTC+5:00. Dacca was the capital of East Pakistan; there, the Dacca time was
introduced by subtracting 30 minutes off UTC+6:30 to UTC+ 6:00. It is worth mentioning
here that Pakistan time is measured near a village Naltar in Gilgit. After the fall of Dacca in
1971, Karachi time was renamed into Pakistan standard time.
In Pakistan, the standard time is followed to run the affairs of life. The offices,
schools, markets, marriage marquee and shops are opened and shut following the Pakistan
Time. It is noteworthy that Pakistan is a Muslim country where the fasts of the holy month of
Ramadhan are observed regularly every year. The observation of fast is bound to the sunrise
and sunset. The time of sunrise and sunset differs in different cities of Pakistan; therefore, the
people cannot follow the same standard time to keep or open the fast in all the cities
In the recent past, when the energy crisis in Pakistan went beyond limits, the
government of the time decided to keep the watches one hour ahead of the Pakistan time; it
was done with the intention to avail the light in the early hours of the day. According to this
strategy, the offices, schools, and markets were opened one hour earlier than routine. This is
how the daylight was availed. By implementing this plan, the energy crisis was controlled to
a limited extent. The strategy could not prove to be a great success. The plan was
implemented twice in the last decade with no notable outcome.